Startup News Magazine

Maitreyi College awarded 13 of its notable alumnae

Delhi, May 17: The Alumnae Association of Maitreyi College, University of Delhi organized its annual alumnae meet “e-Sannidhy” through virtual mode on 14th May 2022. The association invites special alumnae as chief guests and keynote speakers. Every year some of the alumnae who have achieved milestones in their respective fields are awarded the Distinguished Alumnae Award. The annual alumnae meet of the college is celebrated with great pomp and show.

The chief guest this year was Prof. Ipsita Roy, NIPER, Mohali. She remembered her college days with nostalgia and described the important lessons that helped her grow academically, professionally, and personally too. The chairperson of the governing body of the college, Mr. Vaibhav Shrivastava addressed the participants. In his welcome address, he described the importance of the alumnae association for any college or academic institution. Prof. Haritma Chopra, principal of the college gave insights on how alumnae of the institute have been of great help in the past. She also mentioned that college has been the fastest-growing college in the country according to the recent NIRF rankings. Dr. Richa Chilana, president of the association apprised the audience about the various activities organized by the Maitreyi Alumnae Association every year.

This year the distinguished alumnae award was given to 13 notable alumnae of the college. They are bringing laurels to the college at various positions and in diverse fields. The awardees were Ms. Meenakshi Khetrapal, Executive Director, GD Goenka Group of Pre-school Division & Head, Foundational Stage, GD Goenka Group of Schools; Dr. Pooja Gupta, Senior Research Scientist (Neuroscience), University of Wyoming, USA; Deepali Ghosh, Wing Commander (Retd.), Indian Air Force; Deepika Choudhary, Deputy Conservator of Forest (DCF), Planning Officer (Social Forestry), Special PCCF SF, Assam; Dr. Kiran Kalra, Assistant Professor (English), Govt. P.G. College for Women, Gandhi Nagar, Jammu; Kavita Mehra, Senior Manager, 

Mountain Valley Springs India Pvt. Ltd.; Dr. Rinku Dhanker, Assistant Professor, Department of Microbiology, International Institute of Veterinary Education & Research, Haryana; Shataakshi Verma, European Union on Humanitarian Action and Refugee Crisis in Afghanistan and Ukraine; Ms. Romsha, Senior Research Associate AnovIP, New Delhi; Ms. Tusha, Science Communicator & Science Policy Researcher, Vigyan Prasar, Department of Science & Technology, Govt. of India; Ms. Ronak Tyagi, Assistant Commandant, Central Armed Police Forces; Ms. Riya Roy, Scientist, COVID Research Lab, Scotland; Ms. Gayathri Ravikumar, Bharatanatyam Teacher, Sri Priyalaya Arts Academy, Tamil Nadu. The annual meet ended in a nostalgic atmosphere and teary eyes.